The ISO 9000 family addresses various aspects of quality management and contains some of ISO’s best known standards. The standards provide guidance and tools for companies and organizations who want to ensure that their products and services consistently meet customer’s requirements, and that quality is consistently improved.

ISO 9001:2015

ISO 9001:2015 sets out the criteria for a quality management system and is the only standard in the family that can be certified to (although this is not a requirement). It can be used by any organization, large or small, regardless of its field of activity. In fact, there are over one million companies and organizations in over 170 countries certified to ISO 9001.

This standard is based on a number of quality management principles including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and continual improvement. These principles are explained in more detail in the ISO 9001 Standard requirements. Using ISO 9001:2015 helps ensure that

If you want to know more about the revision of ISO 9001:2015 contact us.

Sector-specific applications of ISO 9001

ISO has a range of standards for quality management systems that are based on ISO 9001 and adapted to specific sectors and industries. These include:

  • ISO 13485 – Medical devices
  • AS 9100- Aerospace Sector
  • IATF 16949 – Automotive Industries
  • ISO 17025- Laboratory Management
  • ISO/TS 29001 – Petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries